Rear diffs 3.73 vs 4.30

CelicaSupra.com Member

Rear diffs 3.73 vs 4.30

I have a 4.30 in my 85 now but a spare 3.73 from a 82 I am parting out, What is better and what are the pros and cons to each? Sorry im a newbie to these things... Also how much do each diffs go for? my buddy said the 3.73 is hard to find but didn't really know why its better lol

2. Remove Advertisements
    CelicaSupra.com
    Advertisements

I have an 85 that had a 4.3. It whines at highway speeds, the car was running at 4K on highway. Had it rebuilt. Less noise but still there. I was going to go 4.1 but found a brand new never used 3.73 in box online. Installed and love the way it drives. I have a habit of second gear starts, with 4.3 it did this without problems. Even the 4.1 (had an 83) was able to do this. Now itís just stutters a little. That is the only issue I have. But one I can correct by using first gear to start. One other benefit your now switching into second before your rear wheels go into intersection.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

CelicaSupra.com Member
    Quote Originally Posted by tdream View Post
    I have an 85 that had a 4.3. It whines at highway speeds, the car was running at 4K on highway. Had it rebuilt. Less noise but still there. I was going to go 4.1 but found a brand new never used 3.73 in box online. Installed and love the way it drives. I have a habit of second gear starts, with 4.3 it did this without problems. Even the 4.1 (had an 83) was able to do this. Now it’s just stutters a little. That is the only issue I have. But one I can correct by using first gear to start. One other benefit your now switching into second before your rear wheels go into intersection.

so its less noise on the highway and better off to start in first then 2nd, anything like a difference in fuel economy or speed off the line ect…?

5. Remove Advertisements
    CelicaSupra.com
    Advertisements