"First Day" mods

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

"First Day" mods

Hey all. I'm a relative newbie to the board and the car, with my first mkII ('83 L 5-sp). I found this site looking for mods, and I just stopped here. There is so much information here, I've been paging through it for weeks. One thing struck me: there are all kinds of "quick and dirty" mods for these cars (sandtrap removal from the airbox, fluid changing, etc..), but they're all over the board. I'd like to see a list of those things you do in the few days/week immediately after you get a new mkII. I'd set the parameters as including a drop-in filter, but leaving an RC pipe for later. Just the simple things that you guys consider givens, but that noobs might not know about. TIA.

Josh

2. Remove Advertisements
    CelicaSupra.com
    Advertisements

i've never noticed the sandtrap removal trick to work i think that's a more psychological boost is power because when i did that trick on my car it shifted harcher and my 0-60 time went up. my car doesn't like burning hot engine bay air.

my seat o the pants meter says removing the cat and hollowing it out(after driving around a few days open exhaust) works wonders on the performance of the car...especially one this old because the cat is prolly stuffed.

disbling the egr hpls performance some when your not at wot. you can do that by: look at the top of the TB. there are 3 lines coming out two go to a lil curcular thing with hoses out all neds of it and a black cap that's your egrcm. if you take one line off at the TB and one line off at the egrcm and loop them around and connect them to the port right next to it so basicly there are just two looped hoses your egr is disabled just remember to hook the lines back up right when you get to inspection time...