Toyota Celica Supra Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So i am totally new to MK2 Supras, but me and my dad just brought back a barn find 1984 toyota celeica supra from Denver, and im trying to get it running myself. I just had the fuel tank redone and i have a new NAPA fuel pump i wired in. It wont kick on with the ignition on its own, but i found a fuseable link to trip and start the fuel pump. It will build preassure in the system. The engine will start and run up to 1000rpms, but right after it reaches 1000 rpms it will stall out instantly. Since i dont know much i figured id see if anybody knew what could cause an issue like this. A little background - The car has 119k origional miles and has sat in a barn since 98 for as far as i know. It has the 2.8 I6 engine. Everything in the tank has either been replaced or repaired and i blew out the lines with brake cleaner. Everything in the fuel system has been looked over becides the injectors. Im in need of desperate help to figure out what could cause this. Thank you all

-Max G

·
Registered
1,000 Posts
I had a similar issue and the forum was extremely helpful. Check out the thread below. The final solution was my own ignorance but there's helpful hints along the way that may help you.

·
Premium Member
8,031 Posts
Max If I remember there is a "power" relay in the drivers seat left side qtr panel it may have to be reset with a paper clip/straight wire...

·
Registered
7,193 Posts
If it starts just with normal cranking, but dies just after, I would think the AirFlowMeter that also drive the fuel pump relay does not do it's job. Try shorting the fuel pump relay check connector (2contacts connector hanging just beside the AirFlowMeter) = force fuel pump running, and restart...

·
Registered
69 Posts