Toyota Celica Supra Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Do supras have this engine? I am trying to find out if a car I am getting is a supra or a celica. Does anyone know about this engine? Do only supras have pop-up lights?

·
Registered
9,445 Posts
Hrmmm.... Not sure if any of the Supra's or the CelicaXX's had the 1G-EU motor. The GA61's had the 1G-GEU. The 1G is a 2.0L motor, you'll need to look at the motor page that is at Matti & Helene's website.

http://come.to/helene-and-matti

Both the Supra's/CelicaXX's & the Celica's had pop-up headlights (if you are talking about the 82 - 85's).

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
well, I found that both the Celica Supra, and Supra have the 1G-EU engine. Is there a diff? btw, I am new to all this, so this is prolly dumb question.

·
Registered
9,445 Posts
No, they are the same. Technically, Celica Supra's are considered the MKI's & MKII's. Supra's are the MKIII's & the MKIV's.

CelicaXX's are the Japan Spec MKI's & MKII's.

Unless they are obviously the Japan CelicaXX's, I just call all of them Supra's. :?

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yep, Supra sounds better, hehe.

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I found that it is a GA61. So is this a Celica? Just want to finally decide what it is, cos there are no details as it is a abandoned car.

·
Registered
9,445 Posts
It's a Supra... For sure not a Celica. Don't know of any Celica's of this era that came w/ the G series motor, they mostly (at least in North America), had the R series motor during this time frame.

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Fair enuff. I will call it a supra then, no one around me will know any better, hehe.

Although, it does has a badge on the front with XX on it, so it might be a Celica XX? If so, what is a Celica XX?

·
Registered
229 Posts