Toyota Celica Supra Forum banner

3D Printing parts

6K views 16 replies 11 participants last post by  ddd228 
#1 ·
Hey everyone I have an important question: what are some the hardest to source plastic or rubber parts?

I ask this because I remember dusting a few rare parts on my 85 Supra when trying to restore it. I am an 3d animator but I'm also a grease monkey and I wanted to combine my modeling skills and my love of cars and bikes. So I want to know if anyone had things they would want 3D printed either because oem's are scarce or too expensive.

Really I am trying to test the market and see if I can turn a hobby into a business and I have the most experience working on supra's and with the people of this forum.

So please let me know what parts you desire or if you have advice in general.

#3 ·
Not needing anything at the moment, but I hear tail light housings are getting tough to find.

#4 ·
Somebody just did 3D print some plastic sunroof slider parts. What we are mostly needing are the exterior trims and weatherstrip but those don't lend themselves easily to that technology. One thing you might research is the seat belt ratchet lever thingamajig in the door jambs. Most I've seen are broken off and I thought they were unavailable. Also have a look at all the electrical connectors under the hood. They are all very crispy at this age.

#5 ·
Center dash vents would be a good idea. Not sure how complicated it would be. I swapped dashes two summers ago and the center dash vents were so old and brittle, that they broke into pieces when trying to swap them over to the new dashboard.

#6 ·