Toyota Celica Supra Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3,433 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey guys i'm new at doing engine work and i had a knock in a 6m-ge that i installed...i'm in the process of taking it apart and i want to rebuild it. The head is nearly new and is ok with new valve seals and a recently done valve job. I was wondering what and where i could get a bottom end kit for the 6m and all that i would need to do to get it running properly...Do i get the 7m-ge rebuild kit? for the bottom end. Please help.

·
Super Moderator
8,393 Posts
5M parts will work fine they are the same. The only thing you'll need are a 7M front main seal.

·
Registered
3,433 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
so what about the bearings? I think i'm going to replace all the bearings and rings as well. So what your saying is that the all the 5m-ge parts will work in the 6m-ge.

·
Super Moderator
8,393 Posts
trdmkii said:
So what your saying is that the all the 5m-ge parts will work in the 6m-ge.
Yes. All the main and rod (both ends) bearings are the same between the 5, 6, & 7Ms. Note that the 6Ms use the select fit type bearing (they are #ed 1,2,3 etc) vs the std increment sized type used on the early 5Ms. Rings are the same as a 5M and the pistons are the same as an early 5M.

·
Registered
85 Posts
Gera,
My 6M had a knock immediately after installation that turned out to be the oil pump driveshaft gear not meshing properly with the gear on the pump. Be sure and check for witness marks of them not meshing properly.
The bearings from the 5M will work on the 6M but the rods are different, so lets hope if it is a rod, that it isn't that extensive.
Jamie

·
Registered
3,433 Posts
Discussion Starter #6