Toyota Celica Supra Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am looking into turning a 77 GT (RA24/RA23?) into a Champcar racer... because I can and it was there. I know this is more a second gen Celica-Supra forum but everything strictly 1st gen seems to be dead/unmanned/cannot or will not allow new member and seems to have been left untouched for at least a decade. Soooo I am here seeing what I can learn. Currently a 6 person team, all engineers, working to make this happen

My goal here is to find out what will work for brake and suspension upgrades for the 77 GT be it from a mk2 Supra, Cressida or anything else. I am not afraid of modify or machining parts as I am an engineer and more than capable. I would like to not reinvent the wheel unless it is really necessary. But I do need to end up with parts that will survive a season of 8hr endurance races without failing.

Currently known limitations are that we will be limited to 180 treadwear tires and would like to use 15" rims as that gives us the best selection of tires
From what I can tell on the front the spindles are the same as early mk2 4 lug supras and the same is true for the rear drums... I think. I've been limited to comparing a lot of these parts through what I can find online/RockAuto when specs are listed

Current crazy thoughts... Leaning on what I play with normally I am considering using using a big brake setup that is growing in the Honda world. JCW Mini 11.75" front rotors with boxster calipers. I have the front and rear 4 pots from a 2000 boxster that I never used in a different project. Best of all that should fit under a 15" rim and 4x100 too. But no idea what to do with the rear brakes or MC.