Toyota Celica Supra Forum banner
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
im new to old toyotas so I've got a 83 5mge and it's not starting
I've dropped the tank and redone the fuelpump im getting fuel starting fluid won't help her either
so fuel is out of the question but I've tried redoing the timeing with help from the tsrm but no dice
anyone with more knowledge anything helps

·
Super Moderator
7,921 Posts
If you put a timing light on a spark plug wire, does it lights-up? Rotor and cap condition?

·
Founding Member
6,764 Posts
So previously in January you posted that it WOULD run with starting fluid? Between then and now, had you ever had it running?

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
So previously in January you posted that it WOULD run with starting fluid? Between then and now, had you ever had it running?
yes for a few days on its own fuel
it was rough idle i mean it sounded like a tractor and whould loose power if i tryed to give it gas it whould hesatate and whould not build rpm so I tried to do the timeing in hopes if smoothing it out and it stalled out and I've not been able to get her running sence

·
Registered
853 Posts
Sounds like you have spark and fuel, once you know for sure you do, its time to start from scratch at this point.

Rotate to TDC for #1 piston using a screwdriver in the spark plug hole, check the crank gear to make sure it is reading exactly at 0 degrees. Next, pull the cover off the cams and make sure the belt is set to the timing marks as stated in the TSRM. Next, follow the TSRM to stab the distributor back into the head and triple-check to make sure the rotor is pointing to the proper position when its seated all the way into the head. Button everything up, short the timing connector, re-time the engine. It should idle on its own at this point and not have any strange tractor noises at all, if it does, you may have lost a crank bearing or bent valves or something bigger going on.

·