Toyota Celica Supra Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1983 Celica Supra
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok so as far as I know the AC in my Supra has not been working long before I even got the car. The belt for the compressor isn’t even on but all the hoses are still attached. (I’m new to AC work) I would like to know if I should replace all the AC parts or is it worth flushing, filling and testing for a leak. I’ve been reading around and read that the evaporator is a b*tch to get out and that there aren’t any new ones for sale sadly. Also are there any other vendors besides rock auto that would sell parts for the ac. Is it even worth the trouble or should I just buy portable fans and put them in my car? lol. Any tips would be very appreciated

·
aka Mr Whisker
4,054 Posts
If you are new to A/C, it may be challenging, although if you DIY by changing the fittings to r134a, adding oil and recharge the system you might get lucky (or it might leak - good time to test). R134a doesn't blow ice cold like R12, but has an effect, typically it will only last a season or two. We don't get too hot here in Canada, so I normally just roll down the windows. However, what I do find very comfortable is a cooling seat cover. GLWT

·
Super Moderator
7,830 Posts
Generally speaking, A/C issues are most of the time a money pit affair. And even a good condition car have same issues. Condensor is most of the time leaking, and compressor too. EPR diaphram split and leak often. Having steel to alu unions is also prone to problems, as corrosion develops between the two materials. Almost every part is hard to find.
So unless you are very determined, and not afraid to spend, go for it!

Reactions: AJ

·
Registered
1983 Celica Supra
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·