Toyota Celica Supra Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm still a student and i'm trying to restore my 82MK2 to regular working condition. I don't want to got to a mechanic because I know they will rip me off . I know some stuff abut fixing cars, but not enough. Will you guys help me out?!?!

I have a problem when I first start up the car and warm it up in the morning, it dies and I have to start it like 4 or five times to get it to work and I have to step on the gas. (I guess that's normal for an older car. It could be the ignitor assembly. I don't know. )

anyways...

Later in the day when I leave school, I have to pull out of an inclined driveway up into the main street. I step on the gas and it doesn't sense that i'm stepping on the gas. I could hear the high RPM and my car rolls backwards. Then it somehow senses that i'm stepping on the gas after two seconds and I peel out as I leave the inclined driveway of my school parking lot. Keep in mind I have an AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION. Not a good sign.

I'm thinking it could be the throttle sensor but i'm not sure. :?

Any suggestions would really help. :D

·
Registered
1,613 Posts
Its a tranny problem you have my friend. Check your fluid first off... if your fluid is ok, then it could be a torque converter. I would be REAL gentle with it and avoid "peeling out" until you locate the exact problem...

·
Founding Member
6,405 Posts