Toyota Celica Supra Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok I'm just starting out in autocross and I want to know how you think I should start out with my car. I have a 1982 Toyota Supra 5mge motor 140 hp stock. Anyways what mods do you suggest I do to my car? And does anyone know where I can find local auto cross events in my area? I live in the bay area california. I'm reading up with the scca.com right now and all of their events and am going to fallow that right now as well any other suggestions? Also I'm going to join them as well. Anyone else a scca member? Also what's your experience with them?

·
Premium Member
1,969 Posts
Good grief you are lucky to be in such an autox rich area. Check out the
sfrscca.org website, go to solo2, and lots of links to other clubs, schedules, and rules, lots of explanation of various classes and what mods allowed. In the Bay Area we have SCCA, NASA, venture over to Fresno SCCA region and they run events at Castle Air Base (great site), Sacramento area has American Autox Series, also running at Castle, and Sac SCCA region club, currently trying to run at Stockton Fairgrounds (lousy site). Next SFR event is 7/19 at Marina Airfield, unfortunately I won't be able to make it. I run the blue '84 Supra in DSP, there is another driver Frank that runs a beautiful '85 Supra in DSP-novice. Hope we can connect some time.

Running G-Stock, try to upgrade to stiffer front bar, best shocks you can find for the car (adjustable if possible), exhaust system, drop in K&N air filter, 225/50-14 race tires(kumho ecstas) if not in novice division. Thats about all you can do in Stock class. Going to Street-Prepared you can go through the suspension, intake, headers, alignment mods, any wheel/tire combo, you can definitely check out my car for ideas.

Most owners can't resist at least intake, headers, exhaust, air filter. So think about a class beyond Stock class.

Don L.
#179 DSP

·
Registered
118 Posts