Toyota Celica Supra Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
245 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can someone make it easy for me and help me wiith the steps in replacing my alt? I got the TSRM for my 84 and 86 on the way but not here yet. Seems like they should have been here already, won them off ebay a few weeks ago. anyway i have never done this before and would like any pointers from you guys.

thanks for the help

jeremy

·
Registered
4,871 Posts
What's wrong with your alternator? Are you upgrading to a higher output alternator or just replacing the stock unit? If your stock alternator is giving you trouble it may just have worn out brushes or a bad voltage regulator. New brushes are inexpensive but a replacement regulator can sometimes cost as much as a rebuilt alternator. To get to the alternator, you may want to approach it from underneath the car with the front end up on ramps or jackstands. Just be sure to disconnect the battery before you disconnect the wire on the covered post on the alternator to prevent any accidental electrical short to ground. 8)

·
Registered
245 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
dave, the alt is bad. now if it just the brushes i do not know. is there a definate way to tell? how easy is it to do this? This is the stock alt. i know this might sound dumb but how many belts do i have to loosen up and or remove to swap this out?

jeremy

·
Registered
4,871 Posts