Toyota Celica Supra Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello I am new to these Japanese cars so I'm not so sure about this one but it looks cool on the Celica XXs.

I have a Canadian early 1982 Toyota Celica Supra P-Type with power mirrors (did they all have power mirrors?) on the doors. I like the look of the fender mirrors. Ideally I would swap them out by drilling holes in the fender and running a bit of wiring.

Can they be swapped in? And can I retain the power adjustability?

·
Premium Member
5,661 Posts
(did they all have power mirrors?)
No Euro Supras did not. I traded a pair of North American mirrors to a German owner years ago as he wanted to modify his Euro Supra to add the power mirrors and the rear body side lights, which I also sent to him. I don't know if he was able to - he never asked for wiring or switches, just the mirrors and rear marker lights. In return I got the rear body vents and the manual mirrors. Ugly mirrors but I really only wanted those rear vents which we didn't get here in North America.

Can they be swapped in? And can I retain the power adjustability?
Yes. No. I've seen several people put fender mirrors on their Supras and Datsun Zs but they weren't powered.
View attachment 17559

·
Registered
61 Posts
I am from Europe and no, unfortunately powered mirrors were not available here. But I actually like the slim european mirrors more than the bulky US mirrors.

Regarding the harness: Quite a lot is prewired. The connector for the mirror switch is there and all the wires up to the door.

In Japan there were more options. Manual and powered door and fender mirrors.
And from the look in the picture, they had a powered option of the slim mirror:

I just guess those parts are very hard to find:
Product Organism Font Rectangle Parallel

·
Registered
105 Posts