Toyota Celica Supra Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys...hoping someone might be able to help out a bit.

So here's the skivvy of it. Last night we had a flash flood while I was at my friend's house. I thought, it wasn't too bad and decided to drive home. I should've just waited because though I got through some pretty big tides of water in the street fine, one puddle was just too deep and I felt a bit of jerking. Was fine after getting through it, but the next day when I hopped into my baby, the clutch wouldn't disengage.

She'll go in gear while off, of course, and I can start it in 1st gear and shift by double clutching, but the clutch just doesn't want to work for me. Checked the fluid levels, they were fine. Checked for leaks...none that I can see. Master cylinder was replaced about 6 months ago, but the slave wasn't. I checked to see if the slave cylinder had movement and it does, though I'm not sure if it has enough (total newb). The clutch petal still has pressure...its not on the floor and feels just as it did before the flood. I can't move the piece that the slave cylinder pushes by hand...not sure if that's normal or not.

So...any ideas? Would rebleeding it help? Maybe I have water in the transmission? Do I need to replace the slave cylinder?

Thanks in advance for any help you may offer :)

·
Registered
13,135 Posts
To verify clutch slave travel, support the car fully and have a friend push the clutch while you measure with a ruler the travel of the clutch slave.

...if it is traveling far enough to disengage, but still is stuck, you've got a clutch disk rusted/fused to the pressure plate. You can try pushing the clutch in while in first gear and shocking the drivetrain by putting it in 4th, pushing the clutch in, and tapping the starter a few times (make sure you're not going to roll into anything if the car fires).

--billyM

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3