Toyota Celica Supra Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all -

Pardon my newbness, I am new to anything other than domestic cars.

So here's my story. Decided to get my 85 Supra plated and took it for an Indiana emissions test. Passed easily on HC and CO but failed slightly on Nox.(3.09 vs 3.00) Apparently this is a new area that they are testing more stringently on.

I took the car to a repair shop that I had not used previously that was close to my house since they advertised emissions repairs.

Mechanic called me back late today and said that the reason for the high Nox reading is due to the EGR valve not functioning properly and that he believes that the catalytic convertor maybe faulty and that the orifice tube that runs under(thru) the intake manifold is carboned up. Sorta makes sense as this car has not been a daily driver for many years according to the previous owner.

Anyways, he says that the best fix would be to get a new manifold, but none are available. Next best would be a used one, but might encounter the same carboned up issued with that one as well. He recommends taking off the intake and sending it out to a machine shop to have it cleaned out. Total time involved is a day to a day and a half.

Oh and he also said he intake repair cost to be about $440.00 and a new catalytic convertor to be about $343.00. Seems kinda pricey to me and I don't exactly have that kind of money right now to spend on this car.

Looking for some cheaper fix(es) so that I can get it to pass emissions and get it plated and on the road before winter storage time.

Thanks for reading and any/all suggestions.

Sean

PS. I am only able to check later in the evening for replies, so don't take it personally if I can't get back to anyone right away until tomorrow night.

·
Registered
514 Posts
I know of a couple of tricks..