Toyota Celica Supra Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
401 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know this has been 'done' before but I've added in all the electrical diagrams and body locations.

I wanted to check this 'simple' procedure before I cut up wires and blow my tail light circuit. This is really really dumbed down. Please bear with me, I am not any kind of electrical guy so I need to go slow. I also hope to help those who are also new to this car and it's wiring but who would like to have this mod. It is a very helpful feature to be able to run with the fog lights on during the day without the headlights being on.

After reading all the material and checking the wiring diagrams I think I can do it. Yes I know it's not hard....its also easy to screw it up.

So I wanted to check with the folk who can read the diagrams.

Since I am new to electrical diagrams and reading voltmeters I wanted to check my process and understanding.

I have a 1983 p-type, I am going by a 1982 Electrical Wiring Diagram (EWD), I got my EWD from this site. Lots of very good online pdf files there btw. It matches my existing wiring.

http://docs.azsupracentral.com/

Here is the fog light Diagram, I've added to the diagram where I think the power is coming from once the low beam headlights are turned on.

I am Following Greg Giacchi's instructions from the original FAQ document, http://www.celicasupra.com/mkiifogrewire.htm, which he did on a 1984 and 1985. He said 'He was told' the colors were the same for the '82 and '83, however mine are different. I can not speak for all years so you will have to check your wires and go by what you find to be hot. Not a big deal as you should check with a meter anyway.