Toyota Celica Supra Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 1986 version of a MKII 1985 Celica Supra.

Before I bring up the issue, I want to point out that I have had fairly good luck working on the car for the past several months since I bought it. I have no practical experience with auto repair and maintenance beyond the most basic stuff, but I had a background with other work with my hands and thought this would be a fun project. With what has happened this year, I have had a lot of time to work on this. I wanted to describe my limited experience so that I can point out that making assumptions whether I did something is a bad idea, because I have no idea what I am doing beyond what I have seen in youtube videos, websites, and the service manual.

Some background on the current issue:

The car has been running pretty well. I finally found out that the fuel damper ruptured, which I why I have been losing so much fuel. Since I replaced it, the car has been able to start up instantly and the fuel consumption is less than a quarter of what it was. I decided to work on the cooling system next, since the car seems to burn off a lot of oil and in general runs hot. The dial on the dash reflects this as well. After draining the coolant, I put in distilled water and Thermocure, which did a great job at cleaning things out.

The problem:

The dash still reported that the car runs a bit too hot (but much better, and going through another round of Thermocure), and the front radiator fan seems to stop working soon after starting up, so I decided to check on the fuel sender behind the distributor. I took care to remove it and reinsert it as it was, but I think i messed up when I put it back. The car cranks great, but it will not start and periodically backfires. I have been reading the manual, and it seems like a straightforward fix, but I am afraid I will damage something critical. This is exactly what I plan to do: