Toyota Celica Supra Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi,

I'm a forensic crime scene analyst working on an old case from 1990. I'm trying to determine the year for a particular Toyota Supra.

I have several photos and I'm hoping that someone might recognize the model year.

THANKS FOR THE HELP -- it is an 1984. Case closed!

·
Super Moderator
8,397 Posts

Reactions: Tanya

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
SM,

So it is a 1984? That's very helpful. Here is a question about that model: Do the headlights come on automatically when the car is started at night? (Not sure when this feature started in cars).

Thanks,

AJ

·
Super Moderator
8,397 Posts
If its stock its an 84. 82-84 rear spoiler with the 84-86 hatch decal on it only happened in 84. The headlight you have to twist the knobs to get them on.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
SM,

That really is helpful information for me. Thank you for your knowledge.

AJ

·
POTATO
17,259 Posts
I concur with the 84 model year. Good luck with your investigation!

·
Founding Member
6,425 Posts
Now 85's had the feature that would automatically turn the headlights off after turning the ignition off but the headlights would not retract, just the lights went out. I don't remember if you had to turn them off and back on again the next time you drive but I think you did. I could try it next time I get it out of storage.

·
POTATO
17,259 Posts
Look at the placard on the driver's door. It will tell you when it was built!
Poster is reviewing a case from 1990. It says that in the original post.

Now 85's had the feature that would automatically turn the headlights off after turning the ignition off but the headlights would not retract, just the lights went out. I don't remember if you had to turn them off and back on again the next time you drive but I think you did. I could try it next time I get it out of storage.