·
Registered
2,140 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

·
Registered
415 Posts
intake porting

sometimes intake porting / polishing takes away from the atominization of the air/gas mixture.. do not know the truths behind this but have had bad experience with not getting a very performance out of ported intake chambers. I know enlarging the frst inch or so will help, but polishing the whole intake i beleive is a no, no>>> does anyone else have any comments on this....i am by no means an expert on this subject...

·
Registered
2,634 Posts
Did you look at the pictures? He did a gasket match it looks like and then blended that into the intake an inch or so. And they are not polished they are still rough, but that doesnt matter anyway because the injector squirts directly at the valve. It looks like a good job to me!!!

·
Registered
13,187 Posts
Yea, the polishing vs atomization thing holds light in some instances, say... throttlebody injection, or carb'd setup. But wes is right, our fuel doesn't even travel through the intake system, it is literally right there.

--BillyM

Nice job by the way. Looks very... fast.

·
Registered
415 Posts
porting

yeah, i did not look that close...looks great . i plan on doing the same type of deal with mine...just posted to see what others thought on this subject..

·
Super Moderator
10,626 Posts
Thats the intake manifold hes polished, its the actual intake ports themselves that you want to leave a somewhat rough finish on. Looks good Will, I did the same thing with my old 82. Did you get a mop with a really look shank to get deep into the runners or just port and polish where you could reach?

·
Registered
2,140 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I just got to where I could reach with the dremmel. Correct I just used the gasket as a template. I started this project with the overbored TB as my inspiration...

will

·
Registered
415 Posts
dyno