Toyota Celica Supra Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
284 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey everyone...im new to having an engine block being sent out to the machine shop so was wonderng if these prices are fair.....

40$ to resurface flywheel (a must and seems to me like a good deal)
15$ a cylinder to hone block= 90$
100 to deck the block (everywhere else wanted 150)
40$ to polish crank
roughly 150-200 to balance crankshaft (is this absolutely necessary?)

probably going to get a little discount seeing how im getting it done all at once...

i wanted to port and polish my head cylinder but unfortunately out of all the machine shops i called not one of them offer this service anymore...

if any of you in the laval/montreal/st-jerome area have sent out your engine to a shop recently and have got quality work done for a fair price let me know...thanks

·
Registered
3,014 Posts
napa machine shop charged me $16 to re-surface a flywheel.

here what Anderson machine shop charged me down here in ABQ

head...resurface for MHG (30 RA)included vlve job magnetic partical inspection and pressure test and instal valve stem seals I supplied=$250

connecting rods recondition all 6=$30
crank shaft check and polish=$30
cylinder block degrease, disassemble(oil squirters) and inspect=$60
rebore and hone=$30
resurface for MHG(30RA)=$60
camshafts polish and check $30(for both)

little extra here
helicoil exhaust studs for 7/16" big studs=$50..i supplied studs
purchased clevite main bearings from shop for=$45.10
thrust washer set for=$8.00
clevite rod bearings=$35
the cut and sized my rigs for my ross forged racing pistons for=$60