1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I am new to this forum.
I mostly hang out at the celica GTS website:

http://celica-gts.com/cgi-bin/yabb/YaBB.cgi

I have owned an 84 Celica GTS and currently own an 85 GTS Convertible.
I am very familiar with the 22RE engines. Good, reliable, and easy to work on. However, if you have ever driven a 22RE powered celica, it is dog slow. I will keep the convertible but I am planning to get another car that I can drive daily and also use for Autocrossing (I am a novice). I am
considering several cars, the Supra is on the top of the list. I have several questions..
Is there are particular year better than another?
How fast are these cars stock?
How easy it is to work on? Are parts easy to come by?
Are these engines as reliable as the 22RE?
What about the Mk3's ?
Is the Auto trans ok? or dog slow ?
Will it do ok for autocross ?

Other cars I am considering is:
Mitsu 3000GT
Mazda MX6 V6
Toyota Corolla AE86

·
Registered
48 Posts
Hey,

Well, I would definately recommend the Supra over you other choices simply because it is far more reliable than the 3000 GT and the MX-6. I know for sure with the 3000GT you will go thru about a million alternators and it has a history for cooling system failure. The MX-6 isn't bad, u have to remember that its a front wheel drive.

I like the MK2 Supra cuz it combines sportiness, adequate fuel economy and best of all bullet proof reliability. MK3's are notorious for head gasket failures if you don't baby them and maintenance cost are slightly more expensive.

There's alot more info on the Supra sites.

Hope this helped.

-Hosam

·
Registered
2,634 Posts