Toyota Celica Supra Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
686 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My Supra's sensor light just turned on for the first time while driving to work yesterday. I'm assuming it means the the O2 sensor needs replaced but wanted to double-check before picking a new one up. Anyone else have this issue? Funny, I've never had a light turn on with this car.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
686 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Well i went ahead and bought one from RockAuto. For $22 bucks i figured what the heck. Any tips for getting it off without breaking anything? Bolts look clean so i'm hoping it will come right out. Kind of a tight area though. May do some knuckle busting.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
230 Posts
Replacing the O2 sensor on mine did not fix the problem. I seem to remember reading that there is a reset button or switch under the driver side dash to reset the light. It's been a while since I drove or did anything with my mki so I don't remember the details.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
8,267 Posts
Instructions are in the Supplement for Supra Chassis & Body Repair Manual...Section 4-4

I'll try to post a pic...

1979-1980 Model
Cancel switch on the brake bracket

1981 Model
Cancel switch is on the upper left cowl trim board near (left foot area)
 

·
MGSS Afflicted
1985 Celica Supra P-Type; 1979 Celica Supra; 1992 Supra Turbo Targa 5spd; 1998 Supra TT Targa 6spd
Joined
·
183 Posts
What AJ said. Goes of every 30000 miles whether you need a sensor or not. Small 2 position switch up high under the steering wheel
 
  • Like
Reactions: AJ

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
8,267 Posts
And replacement O2 sensor/reset procedure in the Toyota Maintenance Procedures 1980 Models Section 7-15...
 

Attachments

  • Like
Reactions: ddd228

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
8,267 Posts
AND more pics...
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
686 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Excellent, thanks for the info everyone. I'll try this first and stick the sensor in the parts bin if not needed. Great news.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
8,267 Posts
For the 1980 Mk1 but may apply to other years as well...
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
8,267 Posts
Try resetting first…
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,320 Posts
Only 100% sure way to test is analyse output with oscilloscope.
Not many people have a scope handy.
Wouldn't a good DVM properly measure the DC at 0.45V, AC at 0.20V.?
DC +/- for rich/lean, and AC for signal strengh
 
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
Top