Toyota Celica Supra Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
im a newbie so please excuse my ignorance (ask me anything corolla related and i bet i can answer)!

wandering whether any mk2's come with a live axle :?: (as in NON I.R.S)
knowing that some ta63 celica's do.

will the differences between the supra variants swap (bolt in) to a similar model celica? eg ma61-ta63, like bonnet, guards, flares, bumpers etc

reason:
im a nut for oldskool rolla's but there comes a time where power is needed to extend the length of drift. :twisted:

i very much like the idea of a 1jzgte ma61!!! hell of a lot easier than 1jzgte ke70 :shock:
parts are not so much of an issue in NZ

a BIG thanx in advance for easing my research :D

·
Registered
1,661 Posts
All Mk2 Supra's come with IRS. The Supra is completely different to the Celica from the firewall forward, but most other stuff is interchangeable with the exception of rear suspension (ie you can't put IRS in a live axle Celica, not without a lot of fabrication work anyway).

·
Registered
9,445 Posts
Okay,

Curious, in NZ, do the 82 - 85 Celica's have the T series motors??? In North America, they had the R series (22R's & 22RE's), thus they are RA Celica's here.

The 2nd Gen Supra bodies, to my knowledge, have not had live axle (non-IRS) rear ends. AFAIK, all GA60's (w/ the 1G motors), the MA61's & MA67's (with the 5MGE motors), and the MA63's (w/ the M-TEU motors), all had the IRS rears.

A 1JZ MKII has been done already. Check w/ Frank in Australia.

Bumpers, bonnet's, fenders, etc are different. Flares are also slightly different.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
cheers norbie & cjsredpra

irs only for mk2 supra :!:

so what your sayn is the chassis from the firewall forward is different between the ta/ra6# celica and ma/ga6# supra -meaning i could not buy a celica and get supra guards/bumpers/headlights etc and bolt them on the celica??!??! :cry: