Toyota Celica Supra Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Supra people!

(I'm from Sweden so my english isn't all that great)
I have bought a Supra P-type -85 just recently. It has been standing all alone in a garage for about 2 years.
It has some fixing though, a little rust and the paint has oxidated pretty much so it needs a paint job at some point, when i can afford it :)
Two big rust holes in the "trunk" over the wheels, don't know the exact word for it. And it has no muffler at all heh :) But the car runs fairly good as is. (Muffler is on the way) :)
The interior is pretty much in perfect shape.
It's a 5M-E

I may note this is my first car so i'm not a expirienced mechanic either lol, but i have friends to help me out with the more complicated stuff.

I guess the engine has some parts that needs to get replaced after it has been standing quite some time.
So I thought i'd ask some questions about a few things...

To get the car a light tune without spending a years salary on it - what parts can I buy to just boost it a bit?

What parts should I take a bigger look at, often worn out parts..?
Timing etc, from what i read it seems like people are adjusting that themselves... how? Sounds a tud complicated.
I've been thinking of leaving the car at toyota for a look though.

I've been reading a whole lot since i got the celica supra, kinda got supra-fever :D Very interesting what people have done with their mk2's :)

Even though the engine seems to be in good shape I guess there is some things worth looking on, i just don't know where to start :)
Any advice is appriciated..

Thanks,
Matthew

·
Registered
209 Posts
Hi and welcome to the forum!

The normal things to check/replace on a car that has been sitting are:

Plugs
Plug wires
Rotor
Cap
Radiator hoses
Heater hoses
Coolant flush/refill
Brake fluid flush/refill
Brake lines
windshield wipers
Battery cables
Vacuum lines
Air filter
Oil change & oil filter