Toyota Celica Supra Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, ive just bought a Z11 Soarer, and it has a 5MGEU motor in it with a blown headgasket.. well, apparently anyway. I am currently going to strip the motor down for a full rebuild next week after my exams, and would like to know some things about these engines, any information would be much appreciated.

Do 7mgeu cams fit into the 5mgeu's place? Does this give better lift/duration, is there a need to grind the head for this. Sorry, im a bit new with the DOHC's.. so im not sure what the two things on the head are called. :D

I heard that the 7mgeu crank could be fitted in place of the 5mgeu, which would give it a 3L capacity.

Would all the 5mgeu gear (exhaust manifold and inlet manifold) fit onto the 7mgeu, just in case i decide to buy a stocker 7mgeu for now.

My plans are a stroked 3L 5MGEU, with hopefully 7mgeu cams, either that or some nice stage 1 jap cams, adjustable timing gear with a full recond of the motor, blueprinted and the head ported and polished, and the ports matched, to the custom exhaust manifold. Hopefully providing me with enough grunt to blow most NA cars away..

After this, i will probably then fit a small, T3 turbo with a small intercooler and some 7mgte injectors and aftermarket ecu, i have read the guides on how to do this, so i doubt id need any help with this at the moment. Sorry about the long post.

Thanks alot
Nate

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Just to add to this.. ive just found this from another thread. I didnt want to hi-jack that thread, so i posted here...

82Spearco said:
Just to clarify, Mike Lewitz is running the 5m head on the 7mgte bottom end. This allowed him to retain the 5m electronics, increase displacement, and take advantage of the oil squirters in the 7mgte block.