Toyota Celica Supra Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got back into cali tonight at midnight. I drove from LA to Orange County (hour and a half drive) and I absolutely love my new car.

The problem is that it seems to leak anti-freeze after I stop from driving long distances. Going around town, nothing happens, but after an hour trip at 70 mph, it'll leak AF right as I stop. The car has fairly new radiator hoses and a new water pump. Anyone know what could be wrong? I haven't been able to inspect it in the light. I'm a total newbie so no matter how obvious the answer, I probably don't know it, let me know!

Also, for an update on a previous post, I'm gonna have my timing adjusted tomorrow and I'm gonna get my compression checked too, so I'll let everyone know if it's my engine that causes my car to only go 55 mph up hills and to have a hard time starting on flat ground. Other than that, I'm so glad to be re-united with my new car (had to go right when I bought it).

·
Registered
2,103 Posts
rad cap pressure check? pin holes in the rad? one of the never replaced hard to reach hoses? heater core junction?

I dono there are several places it could be leaking. where is the location of the leak?

will

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'm not sure, it was really late both times I've seen this leak happen. Today, I'm gonna go on a one hour drive so I'll be sure to let you know and I'll try to locate it from the top and bottom. From what I remember, it was leaking right underneath the water pump. And it only happens on long distance trips. Today, I went 10 miles at about 50 mph and nothing was leaking.