Toyota Celica Supra Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
794 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am going to take advantage of my BHG situation to replace my leaking oil pan gasket. I used a cork one when I did the rebuild but it only lasted a few thousand miles before leaking (I did user RTY also but it is breaking apart). When I asked the dealer for one they said that the 85 Supra did not use an oil pan gasket and that I should just use RTV. Usually I do not second guess the dealer but I thought I would see if anyone else out there has heard the same info.

Thanx
Mark

·
Registered
48 Posts
I have used silicone gasket on mine, worked fine. I also worked as a mechanic for a Toyota dealership and when we did anything that required a new oil pan gasket we used "blue poop". Which is what I'musing again as I reseal the motor...replacing all gaskets. Now if I could just get a posotive answer for what a "reverse poppet" is....

·
Registered
7,111 Posts
in my white mk2 it looks like they just put in a bunch of Black RVT looks like crap and it leaks like a MOFO :mad: im taking the engine out cuz the head, camshaft housing and the carter is leaking. (getting the head redone soon) :evil:

i also put the cork one on my Black mk2 and it leaks a bit after long drives. where can i get some of this BLUE POOP and does it work good? and where can i get a Silicone gasket for the oil pan to seal and not leak?

·
Registered
48 Posts
Sorry the "blue poop" is the silicone. Thats just what we called it at the dealership. You can get it at any auto parts store. I'm not sure if there is a difference in color, I have seen black, blue, and clear. I have only used tyhe blue. I will read teh bottle and post what it says when I get home. Brand and things of that nature.

·
Registered
733 Posts
The gray stuff is what you want. FIPG, form in place gasket. It is not the std silicone blue sh#t. Any auto parts store will have it.

·
Registered
48 Posts