Toyota Celica Supra Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone and sorry if this is a dumb question. I've noticed sooooo many people having soooo many different things to say about a basic oil change. I was always under the impression that you drain the oil, replace the filter, hand tighten it, dump in the appropriate amount of fresh oil, start it, check for leaks, and move on with life lol. I believe it takes 5.4 litres of oil and I'm going to stick with 10w30. Okay so because I'm new at the Supra game...can someone tell me if there is a specific way to do it on 82 supras? I've even heard from someone that you need to put a specific amount in it or else you will damage the engine when cornering lol??
Thanks.

·
Premium Member
5,935 Posts
Actually, our engines will tolerate a little over full. The crankshaft is far away from the oil level, normally.
To drain the oil fully, I run only the driver's tire up on a ramp. That tilts the engine a little to allow the drain plug to fully evacuate the oil. Drain plug is on the passenger side.

If my engine is COLD, most of the oil drains out of the oil filter, so I seldom change it.10W-30 is fine.
I measure what I take out and put that amount back in. I recycle the old oil at the curb for pick up, every other week. ;)

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Actually, our engines will tolerate a little over full. The crankshaft is far away from the oil level, normally.
To drain the oil fully, I run only the driver's tire up on a ramp. That tilts the engine a little to allow the drain plug to fully evacuate the oil. Drain plug is on the passenger side.

If my engine is COLD, most of the oil drains out of the oil filter, so I seldom change it.10W-30 is fine.
I measure what I take out and put that amount back in. I recycle the old oil at the curb for pick up, every other week. ;)
Thanks so much for the tip...I never would of thought of lifting the driver side to drain.
Thanks.

·