Toyota Celica Supra Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Im a newbie and in love with the looks of the MkII Supras and just got to have one,
So I Just test drove 2 different 85 Supra and need advice which to buy
1. 85 with decent clean paint, very clean interior, no crack on dashboard or panels. Seats faded but no tears . Stock 5m engine with headers, valve cover gaskets needs to be replaced due to oil leak. cold air conditioning
2. 85 with faded paint, lots of dings and rust spots on the sunroof. leather seats needs to be reupholstered due to cracks and tears, dashboard crack, blower motor does not work, wipers does not work and some interior pieces missing BUT%%% it has the 6mge engine and you can tell the difference in power

The 6mge car cost $2000 more.
The 5mge is a looker because of the clean body and paint and the clean interior with all the pieces intact. It also handles better.
The 6mge needs to be painted which will probably cost at least $2000 , leather seats maybe $1000, dashboard repair??? probably need to replace shocks or struts and an alignment

The 5mge has acceptable power but after driving the 6mge WHOA it pulls longer and harder. The cost of the 6mge will go higher considering the work that needs to be done or with the 5mge, I will be happy with it looks- wise but I might have the itch of wanting more power. So I need your advice which way to go since i need to decide by tomorrow.

thanks for the replies

·
Registered
21 Posts
best bet is to sit down nd figure out the repair totals for both, be carefule with the valve cover bc it could be the cam tower seals also, fairly easy to repair, the 6m is a def plus, how much are they askin for both ns wat are the miles looking like on either, may wanna check for rust on both cars also, newer motor doesnt always mean better car, good luck with ur desicion, either way u'll be happy

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·