Toyota Celica Supra Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Founding Member
6,424 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Whats the best way to do this? Any tips to make it easier?

Phil D.

·
Super Moderator
8,395 Posts
Probably razor blade, TLC, and some rubbing compound to finish it up if you want to save the paint. You could also try one of those flapper wheel thingies, I've never had much luck with them myself. If you're painting and don't care about the paint 320 sandpaper on a DA.

·
Super Moderator
10,546 Posts
I would not use a razor blade if saving the paint is your goal. Use a scraper with a perfect edge, and a heat gun. Use laquer thinner then solvent to clean off the residue once the sticker is gone. Be carefule with the scrapper on hot paint, it will get soft.

·
Registered
4,558 Posts
i agree... heatguns are your friend, i used them all the time when i worked as a detailer.

get a crappy old credit card, and a heat gun, and the sticker will come right off, then some rubbing alcohol, i cant in good concience recommend anything like acetone or laquer thinner, as ive seen them both wrinkle paint.

·
Super Moderator
10,546 Posts
laquer thinner on fairly fresh paint is bad, it will remove it. But anything thats hardened for at least a couple months should survive it, just don't let more then a film of it sit on a painted surface for a long time.

·
Registered
1,457 Posts
I use Ronsonol lighter fluid to remove adhesive sticker stuff. Works great. Whatever you do, don't waste your money on that Goo-Gone crap. I think water works better.

Christian

·
Registered
1,374 Posts
WD-40 works on removing gooey, goopy sticky residue too.

Great big globs of greasy, grimey gopher guts.
Scott

·
Registered
1,948 Posts
Find 3M automotive sticker removal.

Commonly used for automotive decals and faux wood trim.

I haven't used it in years, but when I did, it saved considerable
time than using heat.

·
Registered
202 Posts