Toyota Celica Supra Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,969 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey All:

I've been autoxing my MK2 for several years with the BMW E36 Koni Sports in the rear. Very good shock, but I've always missed the ability to adjust the shocks at the track. So after looking for something of comparable dimensions (the BMW shock is a bit long), I found that a rear shock for a Isuzu Trooper II '87-'91 4WD fits our cars. I mounted a pair of Rancho RX9000x 9 way adjustables today. They come with red urethane bushings for the top stem, the lower eyelet has urethane bushing with center hole that fits our lower shock mount perfectly. The ride is very good, I haven't tried autoxing yet, but hope to in next few weeks. I did notice that the compression of the Rancho is slightly softer than the Koni, but the rebound is adjustable to VERY firm. I got mine from Summit Racing. They have a buy 3 get 1 free on Ranchos. So I have 2 extra new units. Can sell for $130/pair shipped. Anyone interested let me know. BTW, Rancho part# is RS99179. 14" compressed, 22.3" extended.

My other thought was with all the potential of CNC machining of aluminum, we could make a spacer for the inside bottom of the strut housing, allowing us to run Tokico Illuminas in our cars from a 1st gen MR2 rear. I cut my strut housings to use the MR2 struts for a while, but without shortening the strut housing, it shouldn't cost too much for an approx 2" solid cylindrical spacer, with shape so it sits well in bottom of housing, and bottom of strut insert plants well. It should be a good fit to the inside diameter of the strut housing so no lateral movement. Any thoughts ? I know the travel will be less, but hey, get stiffer springs and set the struts firm :)

My brain drain for the day.

Don L.
(pm me if anyone interested in taking 2 Ranchos off me)

·
Registered
15,035 Posts