Toyota Celica Supra Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
97 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay,

So I had asked about a fuel pump and how hard it was to replace. I got it all in and working, it gets power when it's supposed to, it pumps when it's supposed to, but my car will still not start. I've checked all the fuses and relays and everything else. I am new to this, so I don't know what a cold start injector is, or an AFM flap or any of that, so an explanation of that would be great too.

Any ideas? Please?

It's an 83 MkII if that's any help.

Thanks.

·
Registered
4,517 Posts
Ok, basics are fuel, air, and spark. You need all three in the right combination before it'll start.

But since I'm not that great at this either, may I simply ask if you've downloaded the TSRM and if you've checked though the troubleshooting section? It's pretty good!

·
Registered
97 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
It gets fuel, I can smell it. I also did the stethoscope test on the fuel pump (which is brand new) It gets spark, took off the main coil and tested that, the only thing left is air. I have no idea what an AFM is as i said, so I dunno how to test that.

·
Registered
4,517 Posts
And have you used search here on the site to look for something similar? And do you have the factory service manual?

It'll tell you where most of the things are. The AFM is the small aluminum box before the intake across the top of the engine and after the air filter. I should mention that it should be also be plugged in to the wiring harness!

And the AFM is the box with the black top just above/left of the air filter. your engine may not look like this one but the AFM will be similar. Photo courtesy of a thread from subarug.

·
Registered
97 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·