Toyota Celica Supra Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
3,247 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
TECH TIPS ON CALIFONIA SMOG REFFING YOUR 7MGTE MKII.

Ok I’m going to cover
1. Why I decided to go threw this.
2. What I went threw.
3. The dos and don’ts from the mouth of the tech I worked with.

1. So I had been dodging the smog ref for 6 to 8 years. I had heard so many horror stories about the refs that I didn’t wont to even try. As some of you know the rolling exemption on smog in California has bean stopped @ 1975 so my 84 will never become exempted. With this I knew it was just a matter of time till I got busted or it just got to expensive to pay someone off to pass the car.
2. I already knew the car wouldn’t pass in its current state. My HC #ers where to high to pass as a 91 and all my goodies needed to go. The #ers where the ez part I just looked up the smog #ers for a 1991 7MGTE. The what parts had to be changed out was the hard part as I knew some of the parts had to go but not shore of all the parts that had to be changed.
First we will cover the emissions.

1.5mge 15 MPH | HC-MAX 130 | CO- MAX .81 | NO-MAX 1115 |
2.7mgte 15 MPH | HC-MAX 106 | CO- MAX .70 | NO-MAX 762 |

3.5mge 25 MPH | HC-MAX 105 | CO- MAX .61 | NO-MAX 945 |
4.7mgte 25 MPH | HC-MAX 81 | CO- MAX .57 | NO-MAX 701 |

using a wide ban O2 I tuned my car and logged my car on the dyno to make shore my Afs where all good and as such all my afs for all my tests were in the 14.x to 15.0 area. I went to a test only center and paid $20 to do a pre test. I went back 3 times till I got it right. This is what happened
My first trip with one 3” magnaflow cat part #er 94019 my #ers where as follows

1. 15 MPH | HC-meas 130 | CO- meas .25 | NO-meas 264 |
2. 25 MPH | HC-meas 105 | CO- meas .05 | NO-meas 219 |