Toyota Celica Supra Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
147 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings :p

Do you guys use the Toyota Red Coolant? I've never used it before and was just wondering, is it any different to regular green coolant? I'm doing a cooling system flush and I had to buy a radiator hose from Toyota so I decided I might as well get the coolant from them as well while I'm there...it's more expensive than the green stuff I've always used...but it doesn't matter...I just want to give it a try...I like the idea that it's red...something different! :D

If there are any reasonable advantages to this coolant over normal green, then I'll stick with it...otherwise next time I flush I'll go with green...what do you think?

Thanx heaps. 8)

·
Super Moderator
10,546 Posts
I've been told by knowledgable parts guys that the red stuff isn't meant for our cars and won't work right with them. I trusted the guy and just took his word for it, but the other night, I took a good look at the label on the back of a non toyota jug of the red stuff and it said... "for use in new gm vehicles and others with aluminum radiators". I think that about sums it up :D I"m guessing the stuff doesn't dissapate heat properly with non aluminum rads?

·
Registered
2,297 Posts
I have been using Toyota Red coolant in my car since it was brand new. Dad always did and so do I. Radiator and cooling system stays VERY clean and I never have cooling system issues.

I don't know who said not to use Toyota Red in a Mk2...but I was told by the head of the service dept at our local Toyota dealer years ago, that it's the only thing I should ever use in my Supra.

·
Registered
247 Posts