Toyota Celica Supra Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well first off hello, my name is David and I live in Oregon. I'm new to the coolness that is the Mk II. I just bought a 1983 celica supra with 89,000 miles on it. Its in good shape but it was not kept in a garage. So 20 years of weather has taken its toll.

The paint is pretty shabby looking and the black rubber molding around the windows is cracked and missing in places. So what I want to know is how can I fix that? Can I get new rubber molding strips from somewhere? And also the front black bumper has wierd spider web looking cracks in it. Is the only way to fix that to just find a bumper in better shape in a salvage yard? :?

I really want to get my car looking nice and its clear just a new paint job won't cut it. So any advice or help would be great! :)

·
Super Moderator
8,367 Posts
Your best bet is replacement on the mouldings if they are cracked. You should still be able to get new ones from Toyota. They aren't very cheap though. I assume the ones that are cracked are the one under the side window and the windshield (most common to do this). If so the drivers door one is ~$100, the quarter window one is ~$60, the side windshield ones are ~$40, and the top windshield one is ~$60. If you want the best deal on factory parts I'd call up Jeff Watson at 1-800-327-2087 and tell him you are a SOGI member. On the bumper it souns like somebody hit something with the corner of the bumper. The paint is cracked so I would have it repainted if there is no physical damage to the bumper. If you are lucky the spider webs are only in the black part of the bumper and you could just repaint that area.

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #3